Is God AWOL?

UPDATE: See below.

Wow. I didn’t even make it to the fluff part of the SOTU address.

I know better than to actually try to watch GW. I’d curl up into a ball and probably be catatonic for several days, thus I read the prepared text. Assuming he followed the teleprompter, (we now KNOW he can read), I suspect I got a good idea of what he was trying to say. The SOTU is a show and the text usually little more than visions and rhetoric.

But this SOTU is perhaps more notable for what is missing than what was included.

God has finally deserted America! At least he has finally stopped calling George W (or perhaps GW wouldn’t let him reverse the charges, national debt remember?) But don’t believe me? Check the transcripts of all the previous speeches. The last words of all his earlier SOTUs.

2001 – “Thank you all. Good night, and God bless. “
2002 – “Thank you all and may God bless.”
2003 – “May he guide us now, and may God continue to bless the United States of America.”
2004 – “May God continue to bless America.“
2005 – “Thank you. And may God bless America. “
2006 – “May God bless America.“

Contrast and compare with the end of last nights speech.

In such courage and compassion, ladies and gentlemen, we see the spirit and character of America — and these qualities are not in short supply. This is a decent and honorable country — and resilient, too. We have been through a lot together. We have met challenges and faced dangers, and we know that more lie ahead. Yet we can go forward with confidence — because the State of our Union is strong … our cause in the world is right … and tonight that cause goes on.

Oh! My! God!

Is this a hidden message to the religious right? Satan has entered congress with a Democratic mask and a skirt. (At least Nancy Pelosi didn’t wear red.) But the Democratic response included the obligitory god reference. Senator Jim Webb (D-VA) ended his smackdown with “Thank you for listening. And God bless America.”

*sigh* Can’t anything stay normal! Which party am I supposed to support now?

All in all, the whole speech just made me sad and depressed. I think I’m going to go find my huge stuffed serpant and rock myself on my apple shaped beanbag for a while. The rhetoic was so bad, I’d just like to drop dead.

And of course, I’d be going to hell because God has deserted America. Thanks GW.

UPDATE A miracle has occured!:
The clever conservative trap for unwitting prerelease speech readers. The Whitehouse web site is quotes the end of the speech as follows

…because the State of our Union is strong, our cause in the world is right, and tonight that cause goes on. God bless. (Applause.)

See you next year. Thank you for your prayers.

And the WP updated the original link to include applause comments but cutting  the pitiful plea against impeachment and groveling for prayer support. Probably drowned out in the applause!

I was SO worried there for a second.

4 comments so far

  1. […] Anonymous notes THIS INTERESTING OMMISSION from the […]

  2. Teresa on

    I’d say he’s giving up the wrong ground. As far as I’m concerned, he can say “God” until his face turns blue…

    …lets hear how we’re going to succeed in Iraq, fix our economy, create viable jobs, and restore gurantees of civil rights.

  3. blc303 on

    First, he doesn’t believe that the economy is broken. That was really clear in the comments from Jim Webb. There are two different Americas the one that works… and the one raking in the profits.

    There is that little problem with viable jobs. An interesting post by Barbara Ehrenreich, author of Nickel and Dimed, where she points out that the country didn’t collapse after the minimum raise was increased, not that it creates a living wage. But on the other hand, you’re only pleading for viable jobs…not in which country. The administration seems to be doing an excellent job of helping the Chinese workers.

    And finally having the guarantees of civil rights doesn’t mean you actually get them. See my post about Alberto Gonzales. They tell you what they won’t take away, not explitly what you have. They will guarantee not to take away any rights you might have, if you have them… and aren’t a terrorist… or a muslim… or a hairy-legged, Land-Lobster-loving eco-pirate.

  4. Teresa on

    “and aren’t a terrorist… or a muslim… or a hairy-legged, Land-Lobster-loving eco-pirate.”

    Whew! I’m safe! Shaved yesterday, and I used the Quatro, so I’m good for like, three or four days!


Comments are closed.