Heads Up – Homemaker

I’d like to a quick heads up to Lizard Eater for her support of the much abused term ‘homemaker’.

I’m coming up on 9 years of being a full-time homemaker. I am at odds with the other 99% of liberal women who are mothers and not employed outside the home, in that I call myself a “homemaker,” not a stay-at-home-mom. But after about 5 years of being a SAHM, I came to think that a) “stay-at-home-mom” is a perjorative, and an incorrect one — I WISH I could just “stay home,” but we’re far too busy and b) SAHM is a demotion. I don’t just stay home with my kids, and I’m not just a mom. At present, old-fashioned as it sounds, I make a house a home. I make wholesome meals and try to keep the house clean, and repair things and even occasionally sew something. And I spend time tending to the spirituality of our home, planning family rituals and opportunities to talk about our values. But it’s just semantics. Whatever you want to call yourself, go right ahead. And by the same token, I call employed mothers “working mothers.” I don’t feel that it implies I don’t work. Sometimes, I refer to myself and others as “full-time mothers.” That doesn’t mean I think working mothers cease to be mothers at 8 am.

Go read it in full. Bravo!

