Heads Up: Wishful thinking

Staying on the right and just path, here’s a head up to a post by Sean Aqui at Donkelphant about the Boy Scouts.

Be careful what you ask for, because you might not like what you get.

Six years ago, the Supreme Court ruled — correctly — that a private organization like the Boy Scouts could not be forced to accept gays as either Scouts or leaders.

Since then, however, the Boy Scouts have learned a lesson about the other side of freedom of association: the rest of society can choose whether it wishes to associate with you. [emphasis in original]

This is a very interesting post. He manages to put a very personal face on what is a very sad issue.

I remember my mother basically foaming at the mouth whenever Scouting was mentioned. She considered the organisation to be just left of the Hilter Youth, an institution with similar roots by the way. I never found my mothers opinion to be justified. Scouts are what the local chapter and members make it. I knew enough of the local scouts to know they weren’t planning a right wing revolution or the immediate invasion of the Soviet Union. And I had to learn how to tie all those stupid knots by my self. Hummpf.

Anyway – sometimes, what is just turns out to also be right. But sometimes it’s just wishful thinking.

Hat Tip: Justin Gardner/The Moderate Voice

2 comments so far

  1. Teresa on

    My oldest son got a LOT of pressure from his friends to join the Boy Scouts. I got a LOT of pressure from some of the friend’s parents to let him join.

    Since our local Boy Scout troops appeared to be advance recruitment bodies for the John Birch Society, I declined.

    One of the mothers demanded to know why I wouldn’t let my son join a group that was so good at “building character”. I responded that I wouldn’t let my kids join a hate group.

    When she wanted to know where I got the idea that the Boy Scouts were a hate group, I told her they descriminate against gays and athiests.

    She snapped “Well, they have a right to say who gets to be in their group.”

    I responded, “And I get to say what group my kids will be in. I’m OK with that. You’re the one being pushy about what you think I should do.”

    She shut up then, and stopped nagging me about it.

    Honestly, though, if my kids had expressed ANY interest in joining the scouts, I probably would have allowed him to.

    Oh, and once I jokingly told a parent that wanted to know why my kids weren’t in scouts that I wouldn’t let them join because of the remarkably high proportion of high school shooters that were Boy Scouts.

    Normally that parent is pretty good about taking a joke, but I guess not in this case.

    🙂

  2. blc303 on

    Like I said, I think the major factor in the Boy Scouts is the local chapter.

    It’s like the Red Cross. The people on the front lines are often sincere and honest. This isn’t necessarily the case and the national organisation is another matter entirely.

    Of course I’m talking about Boy Scout chapters in places like Colorado or New York. You could probably generally write off the entire state of Idaho. (See this Slate post by Bruce Reed) 😉


Comments are closed.

