Stars – Starbuck – Battlestar Galactia!

Oh, Oh! The new season of Battlestar Galactia has started. At least that’s what I get to read in Slate which has a meta-review of some of the third season reviews.

You see, I am deprived. Living in Germany, there is no way for me to get the original broadcasts of the new Battlestar Galactica. Thus, you can imagine my frustration reading about how cool the new season is going to be.

I admit I was pretty sceptical at first. I liked the original Battlestar (Give me a break – I was also twelve, the perfect demographic. And I would still buy one of the pilots jackets.)  Not living in America, I missed all the discussions about whether Starbuck should be a woman or whether it was OK to have ‘skin-jobs’ or bla, bla, bla. I am not the stuff ‘fan-boy’ is made of. (Actually, I would probably grovel at the feet of Eugenie Scott, but that’s a different story.)

Anyway, I was interested in the remake. What got me to break down and order the first season on DVD was the perfectly cut intro showing the mushroom clouds over Caprica and that excellent theme music by Richard Gibbs. After seeing the first season, I was hooked. I ordered the second season as soon as it was available and got the pilot. I am, however, glad I didn’t see the pilot first. It was rough but not as edgy or dark as I had hoped. (Yes, I have really high darkness/edge criteria.)

Anyway the reviews are a good read although the Salon article does have some spoilers.

Sigh. Is getting to watch original episodes of BG worth moving back to the States? Probably not.  And besides, I’ve never even been to Starbucks. Honestly.

